Medical Care Advisory Committee

Minutes of November 21, 2024

Participants

Committee Members (via phone)

Rachel Craig (Chair), Dr. Jennifer Brinton, Carlos Flores, Michael Hales, Joey Ulrich, Daryl Herrschaft, Melissa Presley, Kristi Grennan for Brian Monsen, Stephanie Burdick, Calleen Kenney, Jennifer Marchant, Kim Dansie, and Davis Moore.

Committee Members Absent

Joey Hanna, Gina Tuttle, Scott Folkman, Adam Ormsby, Michael Jensen, and Cassidy Matthews.

DHHS Staff (via phone)

Josip Ambrenac, Tracy Barkley, Laura Belgique, Gina Boren, Eric Grant, Yoon Kim-Butterfield, Matt Lund, Brian Roach, Michelle Smith, Jim Stamos, Jennifer Strohecker, Kolbi Young, Sharon Steigerwalt, and Dorrie Reese

Guest (via phone)

Justin Allen, Laura Britton, Emma Chacon, Jill Chang, Gene Cottrell (OIG), Jeannie Edens, Julie Ewing, Richard Ferguson, Russell Frandsen (LFA), Daryl H, Matt Hansen, Michelle Jenson, Amy Johnson, Jen Lloyd, Jesse Liddell, Joni Nebeker, Elise Napper (DGO), Andrea Nielson, Anna Ott (GOPB), Jennifer Radcliffe, Andrew Riggle, Destiny Rockwood, Leigha Rodak, Caitlin Schneider, Matthew Slonaker, Peyton Thomas, Todd Wood, and Sheila Young

Welcome:

Rachel Craig welcomed everyone.

Approval of Minutes:

Kim Dansie made the motion to approve Oct 16, 2024, MCAC minutes. Calleen Kenney seconded that motion. The group unanimously agreed.

Thank you, Gina Tuttle:

Rachel Craig thanked Gina Tuttle for service as Provider Rep-Local Health Department.

Accepting nominations for Consumer Rep-Individuals with Disabilities:

Rachel Craig announced that they are accepting nominations for Consumer Rep-Individuals with Disabilities. If anyone is interested, please send information to Sharon Steigerwalt at ssteigerwalt@utah.gov

Accepting nominations for Provider Rep-LTSS Facility-based Care Providers:

Rachel Craig announced that they are accepting nominations for Provider Rep-LTSS Facility -based care Providers. If anyone is interested, please send information to Sharon Steigerwalt at ssteigerwalt@utah.gov

Vote on MCAC Bylaws:

Rachel Craig took a voice vote and announced that the MCAC Bylaws have been passed.

The documents which were presented are embedded in this document.

https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/MAC ByLaws.pdf

https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/MAC Member flyer2025.pdf

Vote on BAC Bylaws:

Accepting nominations for the BAC

Rachel Craig took a voice vote and announced that the BAC Bylaws have been passed.

The documents which were presented are embedded in this document.

https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/BAC ByLaws.pdf

https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/BAC Member flyer2025.pdf

Media Campaign:

Kolbi Young gave an update.

The document which was presented is embedded in this document.

https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/Childrens Coverage Outreach.pdf

Medicaid Eligibility & Enrollment Update:

Michelle Smith gave an update on Unwinding Continuous Medicaid Eligibility.

Director's Report:

Jennifer Strohecker gave an update on Upcoming Medicaid Policy Changes, State CHIP update, and SPAs Rules.

The document which was presented is embedded in this document.

https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/Justice-Involved Initiative Timeline.pdf

SPA's Rules:

The documents which were presented are embedded in this document.

https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/MCAC SPA Summary.pdf

https://medicaid.utah.gov/MCAC Rule Summary.pdf

Adjourn:

The meeting was adjourned at 3:00pm. The next meeting is scheduled for Dec 19, 2024, 2:00-4:00 p.m.